Skeetendo

’Cause all games were better on the GBC

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-06-05 00:39:52

Mateo
Member
From: PHO usually
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,407/2,922

Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

So, you've installed Tauwasser's tileset extension, but you aren't quite sure how to use that extra tile space now? Well this tutorial is for you then! I'll show you how to insert your new expanded tileset, set it up, and start using it to map with in this tutorial, which includes pictures for your clarification.

You will need:
-TLP
-AGIXP
-Melash's Tileset Editor
-Your Windows XP CD-ROM
-Time

So, let's get started.

Step 1: Build your tileset.

This is pretty straight-forward. You will want to put your tileset together with the tiles you want it to have.

tlp1.png

In this example, I copied tileset 1 from Gold, and added some tiles from Legend of Zelda at the end to expand it, and changed the roof tiles so we can make sure it is repointed correctly later. I set this up in a blank "rom" that I use to store uncompressed graphics and work with them, but you could just copy it to some blank space in the normal rom to set it up, and just not save it.

Either way, once you have it set up the way you want it, highlight your tileset and use TLP to export it as a Bmp file. You should end up with something that looks like this (your colours will vary depending on how you changed them to look while editing the tileset).

tileseto.png



Step 2: Insert your tileset.

Now that we have an image, its time to insert it. Go ahead and load Agixp the way you would normally, and select your tileset. I put mine on the desktop as "tileset.bmp" but this isn't important, just remember where you saved it. When you get to the page where you set up the colors, make sure you choose the lighter shade as color 1 and the darker shade as color 2.

agixp1.png

Agixp doesn't always guess these correctly, and if you import them wrong-way-round, your tiles will look funky in-game.

The next thing to remember is that tilesets need to be inserted Horizontally, while pokemon and trainer images are inserted vertically. Remember to change this setting when you import the tileset.

agixp2.png

The next step is to load your rom, and tell Agixp where to insert it. Since this is not a Pokemon or Trainer image, make sure to DE-SELECT the Pokemon/Trainer Insertion box, and instead manually specify an offset. I chose to insert mine at the offset 0x2CC00, so I typed &H2CC00 so that Agixp knows I am giving it a hexidecimal offset, not a decimal one.

agixp3.png


Step 3: Setting up your tileset.

Okay, you have your new graphic in the ROM, now let's tell the game where it is! You'll want to open Melash's Tileset Editor and load your ROM and the tileset you are editing. For this example, I edited Tileset 1 so I loaded that one. On the left-hand side, you will want to change the field labeled "Tileset offset" to have the location we inserted the graphics, in this case 2CC00.

tse1.png

But we aren't done yet! Since this tileset is larger than the original, it will need more room for its pallet assignments. Since pallet definitions are currently hard-coded to be in Bank 2, you will want to find some free space in bank 2 to insert the new data at. I found my blank space at 0xBC40 so I updated the field accordingly and hit save. You will know it repointed correctly because the entire tileset will go black and white (everything loading pallet 0).

tse2m.png

Now before you can set up the rest of the tileset, you need to SEE the rest of the tileset. After saving the location of the graphics and pallet data in the last step, exit the program and jack up the DPI settings on your computer. On my XP virtual machine, I have to change the setting to around 200% for this to work, your results may vary. I can't vouch for later versions of Windows, but in XP you will right-click the desktop->properties->Settings->advanced then scroll down to "custom setting" under DPI. You will have to put your Windows XP CD-ROM in the drive for it to make these changes, and it will require you to restart your computer. Also, be warned- it will completely and totally screw up the arrangement of all the icons on your desktop. Hopefully later versions of Windows do this better (but if they do, it will be the only thing I have ever found a later version to do better than XP did). Anyway, one you have your DPI jacked up, re-load the Tileset Editor.

tse3.png

You will notice everything is huge now, and you can see the entire tileset. Now you can undertake the tedious process that I have already started in that screenshot of re-assigning all the pallets. Press refresh block data when you are done so that the block data looks correct, and you can set up the tileset as you wish. If you want to insert more blocks than the tileset currently has, you would need to repoint the block data and collision data as well, which would be very time consuming unless you copy and pasted the old data to the new location (which in reality we could have done with the pallet data, as well). When editing the blocks, you will notice that the expanded window would allow you to place tiles outside the actual map block- don't do this. It will cause the program to crash. Other than that, it works fine even if the UI looks odd from being expanded.

Anyway, once you have your tileset fixed the way you want it, set your DPI back to normal and open the ROM in Megamap and edit your maps how you like them. Megamap is able to load expanded tilesets properly, whether or not you expanded the map blocks beyond the original maximum (Johtomap, on the other hand, will not display large tilesets properly if you have additional map blocks).

megamap.png

And that's it! You can repeat this process for other tilesets you may be inserting.

Last edited by Mateo (2012-06-05 00:41:56)

Offline

#2 2012-06-05 02:52:15

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 134/410

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

Happy to finally see a tutorial for this here!  I would have eventually gotten around to it myself, but I tend to be a bit lazy :P

Note: If you have Windows 7 (like me) you only have to log off and log back in to change your DPI, so that helps a lot when you're working with these extended tilesets.

I think I have about 10 or so extended tilesets in Pokemon Golden.  That was a lot of DPI changing for me.


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#3 2012-06-05 04:07:14

Mateo
Member
From: PHO usually
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,408/2,922

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

Well good to know that they fixed that.

Last edited by Mateo (2012-06-05 04:15:59)

Offline

#4 2012-06-05 23:12:31

jwibagi
Member
From: Route 29
Registered: 2011-05-13
Post 281/750

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

Okay, I am having some very odd issues carrying this out.
At first, some of my tiles replaced the Text Box border and a bunch of other tiles loaded in RAM, so I had to redo the process again.
This time, it successfully went to the unused part of the RAM. A small problem persists: blocks show random tile patterns.
I tried changing these blocks into different blocks, i.e. water block. Still no change.
What should I do at this point?

* Vista requires a restart for DPI. Ugh!
* Also, the DPI setting does not work on both my computers. The TSE looks same as ever. Do you have an alternative I could try?

Last edited by jwibagi (2012-06-29 07:44:44)


On a long break until my computer arrives.

Offline

#5 2012-06-05 23:57:04

Mateo
Member
From: PHO usually
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,410/2,922

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

The only other way I know of to do this involves manually editing the pallet data in a hex editor, and then modifying crystal map's tilesets ini file to load info from your rom instead of crystal's, then changing the tileset image associated with that tileset to match the one you inserted and setting up the blocks in crystal map, then using Megamap to edit maps like it says at the end of this (This is the method I used before someone mentioned the DPI method).

Offline

#6 2012-06-06 00:03:33

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 135/410

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

Not sure if you can do this in Vista too, but in Windows 7, you can right click TilesetEditor.exe, click properties, go to the compatibility tab, and check "Disable display scaling on high DPI settings".  Then the program should look like Mateo's.

Visual:
HcpLj2V5
For anyone wondering - the reason Windows is giving me the option to run the program in Windows 7 compatibility mode, it is because I am currently using Windows 8.

Last edited by Munchulax (2012-06-06 00:18:48)


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#7 2012-06-06 04:43:07

jwibagi
Member
From: Route 29
Registered: 2011-05-13
Post 282/750

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

Thank you both. Munchulax's fix really lets me see a bigger window. It is irritating to have to restart all over again, however.


On a long break until my computer arrives.

Offline

#8 2012-06-06 04:44:45

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 136/410

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

Glad I could help.

A heads up to anyone inserting extended tilesets.  In the extended portion of a tileset, if you want to use the grayscale pallet for a tile, you need to:

1. Click the tile you want to set the palette for
2. Select 00 from the drop down pallet menu and then click OK (You need to do this EVEN if the tile is already using pallet 00, see explanation further down) This will assign pallet 08 to the tile.

Visual Step by Step:
OusZbUpq

Why you need to do this:
You need to do this because when you first repoint the palette data to another part of the ROM, a tile in the extended part of a tileset may look right in the editor, but will not display correctly in-game.  This is because the tile is set to palette "00", which will cause it to display the equivalent tile from VRAM0 when the game is played.

Visual:

Tileset                       What the tile looks like in the editor           What it looks like in-game
5WDNYtLC      zdsTfLLA                                                    8kVKbdSE

Another pic of what happens if you don't correctly assign a tile's palette (Credit goes to kkj1116 for the pic)
xurXIWyQ

Melash's Tileset Editor automatically knows which hex value to use:

0-7: for the first VRAM bank (VRAM0)
8-F: equivalents of VRAM0's 0-7 used to display tile from second VRAM bank (VRAM1)

So when you select palette 00 for a tile in the extended part of a tileset, it really assigns pallet 08 to the tile.  It is the same for all other pallet values as well, just add 7 to the original value (Ex. 01 = 09)

Of course, you could always just change tile pallets in a hex editor as well :P


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#9 2012-06-16 01:07:30

Luigi-San
Member
Registered: 2010-10-16
Post 64/124

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

Can anyone help me with changing the DPI settings? I tried munchulax's fix, but it didn't do anything. I'm using Vista.

Offline

#10 2012-07-06 22:47:51

Chory91
Member
Registered: 2012-07-06
Post 1/47

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

Can anyone help with insert the tileset? I tried to insert it, but the AGIXP 300 doesn't work with it.  (It said "The image size is invalid").

Offline

#11 2012-07-06 23:11:28

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 143/410

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

What size is your image?  If it is a standard tileset, then it should be 128x48.  If it is a extended tileset, then it should be 128x96.

Another question: Why are you using AGIXP 3.00?  The newest version is 4.11, so you should use that one.

Last edited by Munchulax (2012-07-06 23:13:28)


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#12 2012-07-06 23:30:40

Chory91
Member
Registered: 2012-07-06
Post 3/47

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

AGIXP 4.11 doesn't work on my computer, but 300 does.

It is 128x96.

Offline

#13 2012-07-06 23:32:06

Mateo
Member
From: PHO usually
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,426/2,922

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

Also, I don't think that version of Agixp supports inserting Horizontally, like you need to do for Tilesets, but I could be mistaken. It's been a few years since I used Agixp 3.00 so I'm a bit rusty on that version. But yeah, you should use 4.11 if at all possible.

EDIT: What kind of error does 4.11 give you when you try to use it?

Last edited by Mateo (2012-07-06 23:33:05)

Offline

#14 2012-07-06 23:39:26

Chory91
Member
Registered: 2012-07-06
Post 4/47

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

"Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permission to access the item."

I don't know how to fix it.  >_<

And my computer is Windows 7

Offline

#15 2012-07-06 23:54:17

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 145/410

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

A over-sensitive antivirus may be the problem in this case.  It could be blocking you from using the program because it can't recognize it.

However, an error like this may appear also if you are running the 64-bit version of Windows 7.

Last edited by Munchulax (2012-07-06 23:55:21)


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#16 2012-07-07 00:03:00

Chory91
Member
Registered: 2012-07-06
Post 6/47

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

Thanks for your help, I changed the setting of Anti-Virus and the 4.11 does work now.
^_^

Offline

#17 2012-07-07 00:03:40

Munchulax
Member
From: Somewhere in Johto
Registered: 2011-08-10
Post 146/410

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

No problem.  Always glad to help.

Last edited by Munchulax (2012-07-07 00:03:50)


“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Offline

#18 2012-08-01 22:47:33

Chory91
Member
Registered: 2012-07-06
Post 9/47

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

Why the extended tileset didn't display correctly in game?  And what can i do for it?

Thanks

Offline

#19 2012-08-02 04:44:21

jwibagi
Member
From: Route 29
Registered: 2011-05-13
Post 355/750

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

Chory91 wrote:

Why the extended tileset didn't display correctly in game?  And what can i do for it?

Thanks

You should try describing your problem more, as there could be multitudes of reasons why it didn't work.
Make sure you patched properly.
Also make sure you re-assigned palette data to extended tiles (even for the 0 palette).
The info is all in this thread, really.


On a long break until my computer arrives.

Offline

#20 2012-08-09 02:07:26

PixelEye
Member
From: Philippines
Registered: 2012-08-02
Post 24/162
Website

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

ahm, a noob question, how can I repoint the tileset?


Cheers.


LIKE US on Facebook!
---
Berries Inc.,Corp. Graphical Resource
---
I'M BACK, BUT MY WORKS BEEN ACCIDENTALLY DELETED ON MY PHONE(INCLUDING MY HACK THAT I'M DOING AND GEN 5 SPRITES AND TILESETS). SO THE SOLUTION WILL BE REVISING MY WORKS FROM 0 TO 456.

CHEERS.

Offline

#21 2012-08-09 03:30:29

jwibagi
Member
From: Route 29
Registered: 2011-05-13
Post 367/750

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

The graphics? You enter the offset (not the pointer) where it says "Tileset offset".

If you really want to find the pointer and do it by hex, you can always search for the default graphic's pointer.


On a long break until my computer arrives.

Offline

#22 2012-08-09 04:26:45

PixelEye
Member
From: Philippines
Registered: 2012-08-02
Post 25/162
Website

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

I mean how can I repoint the data to the blank space can you make a little explanation bout this it confuses me a lot...

Cheers.


LIKE US on Facebook!
---
Berries Inc.,Corp. Graphical Resource
---
I'M BACK, BUT MY WORKS BEEN ACCIDENTALLY DELETED ON MY PHONE(INCLUDING MY HACK THAT I'M DOING AND GEN 5 SPRITES AND TILESETS). SO THE SOLUTION WILL BE REVISING MY WORKS FROM 0 TO 456.

CHEERS.

Offline

#23 2012-08-09 04:47:31

Mateo
Member
From: PHO usually
Registered: 2009-11-25
Post 1,462/2,922

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

Are you asking how to find blank space to insert it in, or how to tell it where the blank space is?

Offline

#24 2012-08-09 04:54:44

jwibagi
Member
From: Route 29
Registered: 2011-05-13
Post 368/750

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

You insert graphics into an empty space by using AGIXP or Tile Layer Pro. I prefer AGIXP since I insert mine compressed.

After you do that, you either use the Tileset Editor to enter in the offset of your new graphics or find its pointer and edit it.

If you still don't get it, I can help you with the specifics via email.


On a long break until my computer arrives.

Offline

#25 2012-08-09 06:10:04

PixelEye
Member
From: Philippines
Registered: 2012-08-02
Post 26/162
Website

Re: Taking Advantage of Tauwasser's Tileset Extension Patch

ok send me please send me your docs, you can email me here, thanks in advance..

Cheers.


LIKE US on Facebook!
---
Berries Inc.,Corp. Graphical Resource
---
I'M BACK, BUT MY WORKS BEEN ACCIDENTALLY DELETED ON MY PHONE(INCLUDING MY HACK THAT I'M DOING AND GEN 5 SPRITES AND TILESETS). SO THE SOLUTION WILL BE REVISING MY WORKS FROM 0 TO 456.

CHEERS.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB